coralforrest

A Colorful Modern Quilting Blog

Follow the Leader – Minky Backing

1 Comment

This is another finish from the Modern Quilts Illustrated I received for Christmas this past year. I’ve been dying to use my Rock n’ Romance fat quarter bundle for so long but I wanted to find a pattern that worked well and showed off larger prints.

Follow the Leader

I chose a cream-colored minky with dimples for the backing, and I had a plan for free motion quilting in swirls and loops, but my machine did not co-operate no matter what I tried so I blamed it on the minky and settled for a random horizontal wavy look, with the walking foot. I don’t love it but it will do. I’m working on another quilt with a minky type fabric on the back and I decided that I HATE working with this type of fabric but LOOOOOOOVE how it turns out. It makes the quilt a bit heavier, softer and snuggly. So I just have to adjust my expectations when working with it.

Follow the Leader

My three-year old has claimed this as his blanket, which surprised me a lot, because I think it’s rather girly looking. He loves the backing however, and refers to it as his ‘soft blanket’

Follow the Leader

 

The binding is a Kona solid called Cedar and the background I believe is Mushroom, but I really can’t remember!

One thought on “Follow the Leader – Minky Backing

  1. I agree with you about Minky. Great feel and finish, awful to work with.

Leave a Reply

